The Challenge

What can the U.S. Coast Guard do today to be more effective tomorrow? All topics are welcome, and no issue is too big or too small. Authors might consider:

  • Changes required to meet new global missions
  • Barriers preventing the Coast Guard from fully executing its missions and how to remove them
  • How best to integrate the Coast Guard's unique authorities and capabilities with the other sea services
  • Innovative ideas to help make the Coast Guard a more capable instrument of national power globally
  • How to leverage partnerships to more cooperatively defend and secure the homeland

Consider how to make the Coast Guard stronger. This does not mean authors cannot be critical and take on "it's always been done that way" practices. In fact, we encourage you to push the "dare factor."

Submission Guidelines

  • Open to all contributors -- active-duty, military, reservists, veterans, and civilians.
  • Essays must be no more than 2,500 words, excluding end notes and sources. Include word count on title page of the essay.
  • Essays are judged in the blind. Do not include author name(s) on the title page or within the body of the essay.
  • Submit essay as a Word document at no later than 30 April 2021.
  • Essay must be original and not previously published (online or in print) or being considered for publication elsewhere. 

First Prize: $5,000

Second Prize: $2,500

Third Prize: $1,500

Selection Process

The Proceedings staff members will evaluate every essay and screen the top essays to a special Essay Selection Committee of at least six members who will include two members of the Naval Institute’s Editorial Board and four subject experts. All essays will be judged in the blind—i.e., the Proceedings staff members and judges will not know the authors of the essays.

Announcement of the Winners

Winners will be published in the August 2021 Proceedings.


Submit your Essay


Please log in or create an account in order to make a submission.

Sponsored by
Naval Institute Logo
Naval Institute

Previous Winners