Ship of Gold

A Novel
If you are a member, log in to receive member pricing
Binding:Paperback
Published:April 18, 2014
By Thomas B. Allen (Author), Norman Polmar (Author)

Ship of Gold is an exciting, fast-paced tale of action, intrigue, and adventure on the high seas, told with the ringing authenticity only firsthand knowledge can impart.

This taut thriller provides the behind-the-scenes reality of the national security system at work --the CIA, the Oval Office, the Pentagon, and the National Security Council -- and is must-reading for fans of Tom Clancy and W.E.B. Griffin.

This taut thriller provides the behind-the-scenes reality of the national security system at work --the CIA, the Oval Office, the Pentagon, and the National Security Council -- and is must-reading for fans of Tom Clancy and W.E.B. Griffin.

In 1945, the U.S. submarine Tigerfish mistakenly torpedoed and sunk a Japanese merchant ship. Reportedly carrying supplies to allied POWs, the ship had been given safe passage, but was actually a cunning ruse devised by a powerful secret society to transport tons of gold out of Japan under the very eyes of the enemy. Some thirty years later, the captain of the Tigerfish is murdered in Washington. As the CIA launches its investigation into his death, a race to raise the ship and recover its treasure begins, which mounts to an international incident involving the U.S., China, the Soviet Union and Japan.

X
List Price: $19.95
Member Price: $15.96
 
 
 
Product Details
  • Subject: Fiction
  • Paperback : 288 pages
  • Publisher: Naval Institute Press (April 18, 2014)
  • ISBN-10: 1591140722
  • ISBN-13: 9781591140726
  • Product Dimensions: 6 X 9 in
  • Shipping Weight: 14.88 oz
Praise
  • “Well-written. . . . The authors are naval experts. . . . Heady stuff, this, and written with a great deal of authority.”—The New York Times
  • “Allen and Polmar have crafted a gripping thriller complete with believable characters, bullet-spattered action, and an exceptionally clever plot. Highly recommended for popular fiction collections.” —Library Journal
  • “The authors of the biography Rickover know their military stuff, and they've come up with a fast-moving, sometimes funny caper. . . . Plausibly scary and great, whiz-bang fun.” —Publisher’s Weekly

Thomas B. Allen is well known for his writing about the intersection of espionage and military history, including George Washington, Spymaster.

More by this Author

Ship of Gold
Ship of Gold is an exciting, fast-paced tale of action, intrigue, and adventure on the high seas,...Read More

Related Content

The Gallant Destroyers of D-Day
Sidebar:  The Normandy Graveyard The big-gun battleships softened the German defenses and... Read More
Midway: The Story that Never Ends
On the 65th anniversary, we are still finding out what happened at Midway in the sky and sea in... Read More
'Flags' at Midway
A signalman—Flags Karetka—at battle stations on board a destroyer in what has been... Read More
A Special Report: What Really Sank the Maine?
Introduction Special Report The Heat Transfer Theory Conclusions from Heat Transfer Study... Read More

Events and Conferences

26 October - Guest Lecturer
9:00AM-11:00AM | SNAME Annual Conference at the Hyatt Regency Houston | Houston, TX 77002 Read More

Norman Polmar is an analyst, author, and consultant, specializing in naval, aviation, and technology subjects.  He has directed studies related to the Soviet/Russian navies for various government organizations, and has been a consultant or advisor on related issues to three U.S. Senators,  the Speaker of the House, the Deputy Counselor to the President, and three Secretaries of the Navy. He has visited the Soviet Union/Russia several times as a guest of the  Navy commander-in-chief, the submarine design bureaus, and the Institute of U.S. Studies. 

More by this Author

Submarines of the Russian and Soviet Navies, 1718-1990
The first book to comprehensively describe Russian and Soviet submarine development and operations...Read More
Chronology of the Cold War at Sea, 1945-1991
From the very beginning the U.S. Navy played a central role in what turned out to be a forty-five-...Read More
The Naval Institute Guide to Ships and Aircraft of the U.S. Fleet, 18th Edition
Packed with authoritative information, up-to-date photographs, line drawings, maps, and useful...Read More
One Hundred Years of World Military Aircraft
In the century following the Wright Brothers' historic flight at Kitty Hawk, North Carolina,...Read More

Related Content

Back to the Future
Launching of the legendary Nautilus a half-century ago signaled the coming of today's all-... Read More
Improving the Breed
In the wake of the war-built Essex-class ships were three aircraft carriers that served as... Read More
Deep Secrets Revealed
Two enduring mysteries from the 1960s came closer to being solved in the past year with the... Read More
Terrorism Strikes the U.S. Navy
A terrorist bomb ripped open the Aegis destroyer USS Cole (DDG-67) while the warship was mooring in... Read More

Events and Conferences

"Angle of Attack" Premieres
Interviewees include Naval Institute Press authors Admiral James L. Holloway, USN (Ret.), Vice... Read More
Featured Panelist
2:45pm, Surface Navy Association's "2012 National Symposium," Hyatt Regency Hotel,... Read More
Featured Speaker
1:20pm (Presentation on Azorian) & 4:20pm, (presentation on the Thresher), "2012 Int... Read More
"National Library Week" Featured Speaker & Book Signing
11:00am, John T. Hughes Library, Defense Intelligence Agency, 200 MacDill Blvd., Bldg. 6000,... Read More
Radio Interview
9:00am Eastern, w/hosts Bob Gould & Dale Throneberry, Veterans Radio.net, Ann Arbor, MI Read More
Guest Speaker
7:00pm, The Mariners’ Museum, 100 Museum Dr., Newport News, VA ~ Read More
Guest Speaker
6:30pm, University Club-Military History Legion, 1135 16th St., N.W., Washington, D.C. Read More
Guest Speaker
The Apprentice School, Newport News Shipbuilding, 4101 Washington Ave., Newport News, VA Read More
Guest Speaker
10:00am, Fleet Cyber Command, Fort George G. Meade, MD Read More
Guest Speaker
The Apprentice School, Newport News Shipbuilding, 4101 Washington Ave., Newport News, VA Read More
Guest Speaker
10:00am, Fleet Cyber Command, Fort George G. Meade, MD Read More
Guest Lecturers & Book Signing
Noon, “Lunchtime Lecture Series,” Nat’l. Museum of the U.S. Navy, 805 Kidder Breese St., S.E.,... Read More
26 October - Guest Lecturer
9:00AM-11:00AM | SNAME Annual Conference at the Hyatt Regency Houston | Houston, TX 77002 Read More

Customer Reviews

Reviews
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Average Customer Reviews
Stars

 
 

Conferences and Events

WEST 2019

Wed, 2019-02-13 - Fri, 2019-02-15

Sharpening the Competitive Edge: Are We Ready to Compete, Deter, and Win Globally? Wednesday, 13 February - Friday, 15 February...

2019 U.S. Naval Institute Member Event

View All

From the Press

5 December - Book Discussion

Tue, 2018-12-18

17 January - Book Talk

Thu, 2019-01-17

Why Become a Member of the U.S. Naval Institute?

As an independent forum for over 140 years, the Naval Institute has been nurturing creative thinkers who responsibly raise their voices on matters relating to national defense.

Become a Member Renew Membership