James M. Scott is the author of The War Below: The Story of Three Submarines that Battled Japan (Simon & Schuster, 2013) from which his article is adapted. He is also the author of The Attack on the Liberty (Simon & Schuster, 2009), which was named one of 20 Notable Naval Books of 2009 by Proceedings and won the Rear Admiral Samuel Eliot Morison Award for Excellence in Naval Literature. His latest book, Target Tokyo: Jimmy Doolittle and the Raid That Avenged Pearl Harbor , will be released in April 2015 by W. W. Norton & Company.

David Curtis Skaggs is a professor emeritus of history at Bowling Green State University. He is the editor of ten books and the author of four others, including Oliver Hazard Perry: Honor, Courage, and Patriotism in the Early U.S. Navy (2006) and Thomas Macdonough: Master of Command in the Early U.S. Navy (2003), both published by the Naval Institute Press. He was the 2013 Naval History Author of the Year.

Thomas Wildenberg is an independent historian/scholar specializing in the development of naval aviation and logistics at sea. He has written extensively about the U.S. Navy during the interwar period. His articles have appeared in the Journal of Military History , American Neptune , and Proceedings . He is also the author of three books on U.S. naval history, including All the Factors of Victory: Adm. Joseph Mason Reeves and the Origins of Carrier Air Power (Brassey’s, 2003).



Conferences and Events

WEST 2019

Wed, 2019-02-13 - Fri, 2019-02-15

Sharpening the Competitive Edge: Are We Ready to Compete, Deter, and Win Globally? Wednesday, 13 February - Friday, 15 February...

2019 U.S. Naval Institute Member Event

View All

From the Press

18 January - Presentation

Fri, 2019-01-18

Jim Howe

18 January - Presentation

Fri, 2019-01-18

Why Become a Member of the U.S. Naval Institute?

As an independent forum for over 140 years, the Naval Institute has been nurturing creative thinkers who responsibly raise their voices on matters relating to national defense.

Become a Member Renew Membership