Essay Contest Archives

2016 Emerging & Disruptive Technologies Essay Contest Sponsored with support from Leidos
Prize Title Author
Third Prize Additive Manufacturing at the Nanoscale LTJG Michael W. Haydell, Jr., USN
2015 Commander William Earl Fannin Class of 1945 Capstone Essay Contest
Prize Title Author
Aviation The Missing Link Ensign Max Chomic, U.S. Navy
Marine From War to Peace--and Back Second Lieutenant Colton Oviatt, U.S. Marine Corps
Submarine Submariners in Space Ensign Vigneshwar Manickam, U.S. Navy
Surface Warfare A Question of Retention Ensign Christopher Hein, U.S. Navy
2015 Information Dominance Essay Contest sponsored by HP
Prize Title Author
First Prize Next Exit: Joint Information Environment Commander John M. Dahm, U.S. Navy
Second Prize Updating the Joint Information Environment Lieutenant Jeffrey B. Hunter, U.S. Navy
Third Prize Data & Design Lieutenant (jg) Benjamin Morris, U.S. Navy
2015 International Navies Essay Contest sponsored by Finmeccanica North America / DRS Technologies
Prize Title Author
First Prize A 'Black Rack' Solution? Captain Sam Tangredi, U.S. Navy (Retired)
Third Prize A Sling for Goliath Lieutenant John F. Tanalega, U.S. Navy
Second Prize Ghana: A Rising Star in the Maritime Domain Lieutenant Commander Onege Maroadi, U.S. Navy
2015 Innovation & Risk Essay Contest sponsored by Engility
Prize Title Author
First Prize Learning to Ride Tsunamis Captain Terry Pierce, U.S. Navy (Retired)
Second Prize How We Bridged a Wartime 'Learning Gap' Lieutenant Colonel Frank G. Hoffman, U. S. Marine Corps Reserve (Retired)
Third Prize Innovation Is Initiative Lieutenant Roger Misso, U.S. Navy
2015 Enlisted Prize Essay Contest sponsored by Textron Systems
Prize Title Author
First Prize Succeeding in the Human Domain Sergeant Dion J. Edon Jr., U.S. Marine Corps
Second Prize Untangle the Navy's Web Portals Chief Electrician's Mate Clinton Anderson, U.S. Navy Reserve
Third Prize The New Navy: It's Here Hospital Corpsman Ryan Zieno, U.S. Navy
2015 Naval Mine Warfare Essay Contest sponsored by the Mine Warfare Association
Prize Title Author
First Prize Flash Mob in the Shipping Lane! Commander Timothy McGeehan, U.S. Navy, and Commander Douglas Wahl, U.S. Navy (Retired)
Second Prize Small Ships, Big Thinking Commander John A. Craig, Royal Navy
2015 General Prize Essay Contest
Prize Title Author
First Prize @AdmNelson Lieutenant Commander Jared M. Wilhelm, U.S. Navy


Conferences and Events

View All

From the Press

23 February - Seminar

Sat, 2019-02-23

David F. Winkler

3 March - Lecture

Sun, 2019-03-03

Stephen A. Bourque

Why Become a Member of the U.S. Naval Institute?

As an independent forum for over 140 years, the Naval Institute has been nurturing creative thinkers who responsibly raise their voices on matters relating to national defense.

Become a Member Renew Membership