SHIP OF GOLD

If you are a member, log in to receive member pricing
SHIP OF GOLD
A Novel
  • ISBN/SKU: 9781591140726
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Era: Cold War
  • Number of Pages: 288
  • Subject: Fiction
  • Date Available: April 2014
If you are a member, log in to receive member pricing
$19.95 List Price
$11.97 Member Price
Full Description:

Ship of Gold is an exciting, fast-paced tale of action, intrigue, and adventure on the high seas ? told with the ringing authenticity only firsthand knowledge can impart.

In 1945, the U.S. submarine Tigerfish mistakenly torpedoed and sunk a Japanese cargo ship. The ship, allegedly carrying supplies to allied POWs, had been given safe passage. But, in fact, the Osaka Maru was a Japanese Trojan horse: a cunning ruse devised by a powerful secret society to transport tons of gold out of Japan under the very eyes of the enemy. Some thirty years later, the commander of the Tigerfish is murdered in Washington. As the CIA launches its investigation into his death, a race to raise the ship and recover its treasure begins, which mounts to an international incident involving the U.S., China, the Soviet Union and Japan.

The action of this taut thriller provides the behind-the-scenes reality of the national security system at work—the CIA, the Oval Office, the Pentagon, and the National Security Council—all scrambling to solve the crisis and to have control of the operation. It is a stunning portrait that all too closely resembles real life. This gripping, authentic thriller, which culminates in the most exciting naval chase since The Hunt for Red October, is must-reading for fans of Tom Clancy, Clive Cussler, and Alistair MacLean.         

Thomas B. Allen is well known for his writing in the subject of espionage and military history. His writings on intelligence and related topics have appeared in such national publications as Smithsonian and the Washington Post Magazine, in addition to the Naval Institute's Proceedings and Naval History magazines.

Norman Polmar is an internationally known analyst, consultant, and award-winning author specializing in naval, aviation, and intelligence areas. He has participated in or directed major studies in these areas for the U.S. Department of Defense and Navy, and served as a consultant to U.S. and foreign commercial firms and government agencies. He has been an advisor or consultant on naval issues to three U.S. Secretaries of the Navy and two Chiefs of Naval Operations, as well as to three U.S. Senators and a Speaker of the House of Representatives. He has 50 published books to his credit, including eight previous editions of The Naval Institute Guide to the Ships and Aircraft of the U.S. Fleet and four editions of Guide to the Soviet Navy as well as U.S. Nuclear Arsenal, Ship Killer, and Project Azorian. Mr. Polmar is a columnist for Proceedings and Naval History magazines. He is a resident of Alexandria, VA. 

~ Praise for Ship of Gold ~

“The authors of the biography Rickover know their military stuff, and they've come up with a fast-moving, sometimes funny caper. During World War II, a U.S. submarine sinks a Japanese freighter carrying medical supplies that had Allied assurances of safe passage. Thirty-five years later, a Japanese consortium engages the Glomar Explorer to raise World War II hulks 'for scrap.' When the retired skipper of the sub, trying to clear his name, is murdered in Washington, ex-CIA operative Gunnison, now a consultant for the agency, is quietly brought in to find out what's going on. The consortium, it develops, knows that the ship was loaded with gold, not medicine. Gunnison is hired by the Japanese, but plans to get a bigger cut of the billions involved by throwing in with a Taiwanese wheeler-dealer. After a series of betrayals, the book climaxes with the Glomar in the Formosa Strait surrounded by submarines, surface ships and aircraft from China, Japan, Taiwan, the Soviet Union and America. The situation is at flash-point, and, as one character says, the world's only hope ‘is that they're as fouled up as we are.’ Plausibly scary and great, whiz-bang fun.”

— Publisher’s Weekly

“A retired World War II American submarine commander responsible for sinking a Japanese Merchant ship, the Osaka Maru, which had been guaranteed safe passage by the U.S. Navy, is murdered in Washington while trying to trace official records that will clear his name. The CIA hires a former agent, Harry Gunnison, to investigate. Harry quickly discovers that the ship, ostensibly on a mercy mission, contained millions in gold bullion looted during the war. The sole Japanese survivor of the sinking plans to raise the wreck. Harry finds himself at the center of a race for the treasure and a major international incident. Allen and Polmar have crafted a gripping thriller complete with believable characters, bullet spattered action, and an exceptionally clever plot. Highly recommended for popular fiction collections.”

— Library Journal

 

Customer Reviews
Reviews
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Average Customer Reviews
Stars

 
 

Conferences and Events

2014 U.S. Naval Institute Annual Meeting

Wed, 2014-04-16

U.S. Naval Institute members and supporters are cordially invited to attend the 2014 U.S. Naval Institute Annual Meeting...

View All

From the Press

Guest Lecturer

Sat, 2014-04-19

Guest Lecturer

Sat, 2014-04-19

Captain Bernard Cole

Why Become a Member of the U.S. Naval Institute?

As an independent forum for over 135 years, the Naval Institute has been nurturing creative thinkers who responsibly raise their voices on matters relating to national defense.

Become a Member Renew Membership